Life is short, and so am I.

August 23, 2009 at 3:56 PM 1 comment

This past week I read a blog post which claimed that providing yourself with limitations will often lead to more success than trying to meet unrealistic goals.  It reminded me very much of my own philosophy of life, and I thought it fitting to share it with you.

“Life is short, and so am I.”

I don’t remember who first said it to me, where I read it or when I started believing it, but I can tell you that not a day goes by when I don’t think about this quote.  It fits my life in so many ways, including the fact that I come from a horizontally-challenged family (I’m the second tallest in my immediate family at a whopping 5’1’’).

I have an ego just like everyone else; I think that I rock at making new connections and went to the best darn basketball school in the world.  At the same time, I realize I have limitations and shortcomings; I’m clumsy as all get out and often get too focused on “having a plan” for my own good.

My life is guided by two simple truths:

1. My life is short. I need to make the most of every situation, take time to enjoy the world and the people in my life, always try my hardest, never be embarrassed and laugh at myself at least once a day.

2. I am short. I need to understand what I can and cannot do, respect my limitations,  never promise more than I can give, learn when to be selfish and realize that it’s OK to say “no.”

Admittedly, sometimes a day comes around when all I forget I can’t “do it all” or when I would just rather sleep in.  I grow every day, though, and more and more I embody this philosophy in all of my actions.

What is your philosophy of life?  How does it define you?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

DR. WHAW? Sunday Digest – Week-ending August 23, 2009 DR. WHAW? – August 24, 2009

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


