There’s no do-over in social media! There’s no make-up in social media!

October 14, 2009 at 9:12 PM 2 comments

A League of Their Own?  Anyone?

I had to take a full week off from my blog last month because my internship was consuming most of my waking hours.  I vowed never to take off so much time again partly because I was absolutely exhilarated when I was able to blog again.

This week brought more complications that kept me from blogging.  The end of the quarter meant our quarterly analysis report at work was due and there was plenty to do to make sure it would be completed by deadline.  In case that weren’t enough, I have managed to come down with the flu or something like it.

There is something you must know about me for any of this to make sense: I am a stickler for routine.  I have realized that it can sometimes be my biggest fault, but I like to schedule my days ahead of time so I have a general idea of what I will be doing when.  Don’t get me wrong, if my morning report takes 15 minutes longer than expected, I don’t lose it.  I just like to have a general idea of what my day will hold.

When I am unable to complete all of the tasks I wanted to get done in a day, I feel as though I’ve let myself down in a way.  I know.  That’s silly, which is why it’s such a big fault at times.

Late last week I needed to work many hours overtime to ensure for my internship, and I had to let my blog fall to wayside.  As each day has passed, I have felt more and more like I’m letting myself down for failing to keep up with it.

My initial solution: make it all up in due time.

As soon as I found time, as soon as work calmed down, I could go back and write all those missed blog posts, right?  Uhh, no.  Not exactly.

You know what I’ve realized about social media and the blogosphere?  There are no do-overs and there are no make-ups.  You just have to take what you’ve got and move forward.

This hasn’t been a personal crisis, but for brands and companies faced with such incidents, it’s often the best move to address what has happened and move forward.  There’s no use trying to take back or erase a mistake made in the social media space.

And where time means everything, where a story becomes “old news” in hours, what will me going back to make-up posts from last week do?  Make me feel a little more at ease, I suppose.  But I’m learning to accept that which I cannot change, and I am proud of myself for putting my internship first.

I’ll take what I’ve got and move forward.

Entry filed under: DR. WHAW?, Growing up, Life as an intern, Social Media. Tags: , , .

DR. WHAW? – October 7, 2009 DR. WHAW? – October 14, 2009

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DR. WHAW? – October 14, 2009 « One true sentence.  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    […] much like the flu, I was out of commission for a bit.  But I am back!  And happy to be here.  Read why before you find out what I Didn’t Read While Hard At Work […]

    Reply
  • 2. Keith Trivitt  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:48 PM

    Hi Rebecca – Good for you for realizing that just like almost everything else in our adult lives, there are very few “do-overs” and as you very aptly put, you just have to move on, and make a positive out of what you have ahead of you.

    The thing with the social Web is that all of us – myself included – are getting so caught up in always being “on,” always being there for that next cool movement or being a part of the next great Internet meme. The problem with that is similar to what you have noticed in your own life: The rest of our personal and professional lives don’t always cooperate with this internal need that we seem to feel to always be there and always be a part of something in the social Web. We have to learn to accept that, move forward and always strive to improve and learn more to better ourselves, our clients and the organizations that we work for.

    As I said, good for you for realizing this while you’re still entering the world world. Now, the challenge is, don’t forget about it 2-3 years down the line when the real insanity begins!

    @KeithTrivitt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


