Back to my childhood…twice!

October 16, 2009 at 1:57 PM 1 comment

As I sit in the Cleveland airport, I am struck by how connected I am to the world in seemingly endless ways. I know this may seem cliche or cheesy, but stick with me.

My first flight brought me from Milwaukee, which has been my home for 14 years, to Cleveland where I was born. I lived in Shaker Heights nearby until I was six. I switched on my iPhone to check Twitter and saw more news about the balloon boy, who lives in Fort Collins, CO. My family lived in Fort Collins before making a second (and final) move to Wisconsin.

All if this en route to Chapel Hill, a place that became my home four short years ago. Have you ever had a day like this? I feel so undeniably linked to all of these places and people.

Now in the mood to be sentimental, I can’t help but wonder if it’s coincidence I’m flying through a city I first called home to visit the town I believe will become my heart’s last home.

I love how I always get this way in airports. Who’s coming? Who’s going? Who calls this place home and who will never see beyond the airport? How am I connected?

Times like these convince me that we are all absolutely connected. Call me naive, but I love how that feels.

I also love that I can share this with all of you from my cell phone. It’s Friday. Take a second and appreciate how utterly unalone you are.

Entry filed under: Growing up, Social Media. Tags: , .

DR. WHAW? – October 15, 2009 DR. WHAW? – October 20, 2009

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. SaraKate  |  October 16, 2009 at 2:40 PM

    Lovely post, Rebecca. You’re not the only one who gets that way – I’ve had many similar experiences. Enjoy the feeling while it lasts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


