Social media conversations: what would you want to know?

December 23, 2009 at 10:08 AM 1 comment

Lately, I’ve been finding myself focusing more on the social media conversations. Every time a new project comes up, I’m asked to look at it from a company’s perspective.  More specifically, it’s always recommended to think about what the CMO would want to know or what the CEO would want to know.

How the heck am I supposed to know?

Seriously.  I graduated about seven months ago from college, and I have very little idea what a CMO would want to know about online conversations.  Generally I have a pretty good idea, and I have gotten very good at recognizing topics that are significant or noticing changes in volume of posts or where posts are being written.  But I still find myself wondering how I can be expected to understand what someone like a CMO would look for.

So I’m asking you!  What do you think?  If you were a CMO and wanted an audit of social media conversations, what would you look for?  What would you notice?  What would stand out?  I would love to hear some insights and ideas so maybe I can learn to recognize the big ideas when I see them.

Entry filed under: Measurement, PR metrics, Social Media. Tags: , .

Psychology of social media: impatience, lack of focus and paranoia abound So mobile is the future, huh? How the heck do I measure that?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mark W Schaefer  |  December 28, 2009 at 9:03 PM

    As ia CMO, what I would want to know is very simple. How do i sell more stuff, to more people, more often, for more money?

    That’s what it all boils down to. So I think any conversations that can be distilled to answer that question would be golden. The question is easy. The answer is not : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


