My Top 25 Before 25

January 29, 2010 at 7:16 AM 6 comments

A little while ago, I asked y’all how you measure personal success, and your responses were overwhelmingly helpful! So I decided to take a moment and share my goals with you. I’ve come up with my top 25 goals that I’d like to achieve before I’m 25 years old. Because I’m such an organization freak, they’re broken down into categories. 🙂

Personal Goals:

  1. Adopt a dog to be the start of my new, grown-up family.
  2. Run a second triathlon, this time with my dad, and walk/run a half-marathon with my two best friends (who I did the first triathlon with).
  3. Make my old friendships a priority by setting up phone and Skype dates with my friends and family who I can’t see on a regular basis.
  4. Nurture new Chicago friendships and have a Chicago friend family that can be relied on much like my oldest and dearest friends.
  5. Volunteer at PAWS Chicago at least once each week and find a way to give back to UNC, too.

Professional Goals:

  1. Improve my understanding of social media channels and how Edelman is using them.
  2. Ask questions early and often, and be willing to turn in a project late if it means doing it right the first time around.
  3. Seek out new and different projects where I can help out and learn more about measurement and social media.
  4. Read and absorb anything and everything about social media measurement in order to broaden my skills and to better help clients.
  5. Become the go-to measurement guru in the Edelman Digital Chicago office.

Blog Goals:

  1. Claim my own domain name and begin learning (and using!) HTML coding.
  2. Write blog posts each week about something that I love or am passionate about.
  3. Become a regular contributor on a group blog or a guest post-er on more social media nuts’ blogs.
  4. Find a way to keep DR. WHAW? a regular feature without committing to posting it every single day (with my schedule, I can’t seem to make this work every day).
  5. Increase reader engagement as marked by number of comments, return readers and Tweets.

Chicago Goals:

  1. Move to an apartment in Lakeview.
  2. Attend Lollapalooza in the summer.
  3. Try a Chicago-style hot dog and a sandwich from Lucky’s.
  4. Take the architectural boat tour.
  5. See the Boston Red Sox play at Wrigley Field (I know this may not even be possible but definitely worth a shot).

Travel Goals:

  1. Visit Washington, D.C., for the first time and do all of the typical touristy things.
  2. Visit my older sister in Amherst, Massachusetts, and my younger sister at the University of Minnesota.
  3. Visit Austin, Texas, to attend the SXSW conference in 2011 and find some old friends.
  4. Visit my mom’s parents in Kentucky and see my cousin wrestle in a state tournament (it will happen, Sean!).
  5. Travel to the ACC or NCAA tournament to watch the Tar Heels play their way into history again.

So there you have it. I know that some of these are lame and some may be quite difficult to achieve before I’m 25. Still, I believe these are all quite reasonable (and measurable!) goals for me. Just having written this list has made me happier, and really, isn’t that the real goal?

Entry filed under: Life as an AAE. Tags: .

Calling all DR. WHAW fans! Down with fluff! (But how will it affect my job?)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt Cheuvront  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:51 AM

    Love this list Rebecca. You can join me in the ranks of “uber-organized” – it’s almost a sickness I think, lol.

    1) Your point about asking questions – this will really REALLY get you far (not that yoou need me to tell you that) – but admitting that you don’t know everything and leaving yourself open to constantly learning new things will take you far.

    2) I love your passion for Social Media measurement. Everyone is “passionate” about Social Media, but most overlook the tangible measurements and results to bottom-line ROI. Become a master of that, and you’ll become invaluable to any company.

    3) I will see you at Lollapalooza. I’ve been 3 of the last 4 years and it is amazing. I’m personally just REALLY excited that I finally live here, making attending SO much more convenient. Here’s to hoping for an awesome lineup.

    4) I will also wee you at SXSW in 2011. We’ve talked about this – 2010 is no go with the wedding and…well, just losing my job (a temporary glitch) – but 2011 is on like Donkey Kong. We’ll just have our own cool party here in Chicago that week to make up for the fact that we couldn’t make it there.

    Love it Rebecca. Sounds like you have a lot on deck – can’t wait to see how everything develops for you 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Rebecca Denison  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:47 AM

      Yay for Lollapalooza! I’ve never been, but now that I’m officially staying in Chicago for the foreseeable future and love summer and music, I figured it was about time I attend. We should organize something for all our Tweeps around that time! YAY!

      And SXSW 2010 We’re-stuck-in-Chicago-so-we’re-cooler-than-you party is so on!

      Reply
  • 3. Tim Jahn  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:13 AM

    I love this Rebecca!

    None of your goals are lame – they’re important to you for your reasons. We all have different things we want to accomplish next week, next month, next year. But no one’s goal is more important than some one else’s – they’re each important to us individually.

    I really need to follow in your footsteps and list out my goals. 2010 has been (and will be so more than ever soon) a big year of change in my life, and focus will be key.

    Thanks as always for working my brain, Rebecca 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Rebecca Denison  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:25 AM

      Thanks as always for sharing your thoughts! I really do appreciate your support and insights every single day, Tim. 🙂

      I would love to read your list of goals, too! Just writing this list made me feel more on track than ever, and now I have goals to move toward instead of general thoughts I have rolling around in my head. And luckily I have two years-ish to get through these!

      Reply
  • 5. David Spinks  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:08 PM

    I wish I could be as organized as you! I kind of just wing it… perhaps writing down my goals will help me. I have many goals that are similar to yours.

    SXSW 2011 is totally on.

    David

    Reply
    • 6. Rebecca Denison  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:09 PM

      It’s oddly liberating to write them all down, I feel less pressure and burden now. Weird, right?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


