In a measurement state of mind

February 8, 2010 at 8:47 AM Leave a comment

Last week marked the first #measurepr Twitter chat, hosted by Shonali Burke and Katie Paine, two measurement gurus. I highly recommend looking out for the next chat because there were a lot of good ideas and thoughts, and you should read the chat transcript here.

During the chat, Shonali made a comment that really struck me. We were talking about measurement in public relations and how to improve our efforts. And Shonali had this to say:

“I think you have to get into a “measurement state of mind.” Always questioning.”

I could never have said this better myself. When you’re trying to start measuring in PR or otherwise, it’s important to fully immerse yourself and get into a measurement state of mind.

While I don’t want to be extreme and insist that you measure absolutely everything you do, I think it’s important to view everything you do with an analytical eye. As you begin each new campaign or program, one big focus should be not only what your goals are, but how you will measure those goals.

Measurement along the way and at the end are both equally important, and that’s why you should always be questioning. It should never been something you do at one stage in the process, measurement should be on your mind all the time.

This is something I find myself doing, almost to a fault. I know I must sound like a broken record when every time a new technology or tool emerges, my first thought is: and how will we measure that?

Whether or not it’s something that falls under your particular job description, I encourage you all to think about how you can incorporate measurement into your work every single day. As public relations continues to evolve, there will be a constant struggle to prove its worth, and not just to our own bosses anymore.

How will you show your value to your company, to your department? In what ways could you integrate measurement into your current daily routine?

Entry filed under: Measurement, PR metrics, public relations. Tags: , .

DR. WHAW? – Week-ending February 7, 2010 DR. WHAW? – February 8, 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to keep track of what I’m up to!

More from me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Thoughts

Categories

Previous Posts


